My stuff suddenly disappeared, I am sure I saved it

Here are some things that could have happened, and how you can fix it.

First: Are you sure you got a green box saying 'Saved' in the right bottom corner when you did your save.

This means that the change has reached our server.

If you get a Red box saying 'Ouch... '  it means the change did not reach our server. It is most often due to unstable internet connection.
Check your internet connection. Refresh the page . If you still have problems, send us an email.

If you get a Red box saying 'Authorization failed...' it means you do not have authorization to make changes. Either because you have been logged out or because your user are not set with permission to perform the activities you want to do. 
1. Check your internet connection.
2. Try to log out and in again.

Some bigger enterprises, like hospitals or government institutions have a proxy server installed. We have seen that it sometimes lead to a disconnect with our storage servers, and users get logged out while seeming to be online, and have internet connection.
If you think that this could be happening to you, call your IT department and ask them if they are using a proxy. If the answer is yes, you need to ask them to exempt these addresses from their proxy:
www.magicapp.org
magicapp.org

It will take them 10-20 min to do, so it not a time consuming task. 

Below are for the cases where you have seen the green 'Saved' box, but your content did anyways disappear.

Reasons for this can be that the browser have stored an old version locally. So the first thing to try is to delete browser data storage/ Cache. It is slightly different for different browsers. Below follows an explanation on how to do this for each browser.

Clear Cache

IE 9,10,11


  1. Select Tools (via the Gear Icon) > Safety > Delete browsing history.... NOTE: You can also access this menu by holding Ctrl + Shift + Delete.


  2. Make sure to uncheck Preserve Favorites website data and check both Temporary Internet Files and Cookies then click Delete


  3. You will get a confirmation at the bottom of the window once it has successfully cleared your cache and cookies. 


Further Troubleshooting

The above procedure for clearing cache and cookies should work for the majority of websites, but certain website and applications such as WiscMail require a more thorough procedure. If you are still having issues, try to steps below.

  • Note: The F12 developer tools in Internet Explorer 11 do not include a cache menu. This process will only work for IE10 or lower.


  1. Close out of Internet Options. Click on Tools and select Developer Tools.


  2. In the Developer Tools window, click on Cache and select Clear Browser Cache...


  3. Click Yes to confirm the clearing of the browser cache.


See Also:


Chrome


Step 1: Click on the Chrome menu icon seated towards the right end, besides the address bar.



Step 2: Navigate to Tools -> Clear browsing data. If you love keyboard shortcuts you can use the Ctrl + Shift + Delete combination and ignore Step 1 and Step 2.



Step 3: A pop up (as shown below) will appear on your screen. Here, you can select, not just cache, but any browsing data that you wish to delete.

Step 4: Since we are concerned with browse cache, tick mark the option reading Empty the cache and uncheck all others. In order to clear cache completely we suggest that you select beginning of time from the drop down. Click on Clear browsing data when done.



Firefox

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-clear-firefox-cache?redirectlocale=en-US&redirectslug=How+to+clear+the+cache

  1. Click the menu button  and choose Preferences.
  2. Select the Advanced panel.
  3. Click on the Network tab.
  4. In the Cached Web Content section, click Clear Now.

Safari

  1. Select "Preferences" from the Safari Menu
    select preferences under safari menu

  2. Select the "Advanced" tab and check the "Show Develop menu in menu bar" box


  3. You will now have a "Develop" menu available.  Select "Empty Caches" from the Develop Menu.









Feedback and Knowledge Base